Kennedy Center Honors to Recognize George Lucas

July 17, 2015 – George Lucas has been named one of six recipients of this year’s Kennedy Center Honors.

Since 1978, the Honors have been presented annually in Washington, D.C., to recognize individuals who have made lifetime contributions to American culture in the performing arts. The ceremony will be on 6 December 2015 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, located on the banks of the Potomac River in Washington, D.C. The gala event will be broadcast on CBS on December 29th at 9:00 P.M. EST/6:00 P.M. PST.

In a press statement, Lucas said: “As one of our nation’s premier cultural organizations, the Kennedy Center has long recognized the value of creativity and championed the performing arts in all its diverse forms. As a filmmaker, I am a storyteller at heart. Traditions of old have grown to encompass imaginative and innovative contemporary forms of expression – the Kennedy Center Honors values the continuation of both.”

Additional honorees include actress-singer Rita Moreno, softrock band The Eagles, classical conductor Seiji Ozawa, actress Cicely Tyson and singer-songwriter Carol King.

The weekend-long celebration includes a U.S. State Department dinner the night before the gala. At the dinner, U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry will present the Kennedy Center Honors medallions to the six recipients. The following night, the gala tribute will include performances honoring the recipients. President Obama and the First Lady are expected to be in attendance.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s